AMFFC 2020

 

As of Wednesday 3rd June 2020, as a result of the Corona virus, all competitions for 2020 are cancelled.

The Association of Major Flyfishing Clubs promote a series of team competitions held throughout the year, starting with the first Association match on Saturday 18th April at Grafham in which all teams fish, culminating in the Autumn Association match held at Draycote on Saturday 3rd October, (again when all teams fish), when the winners of each group will be decided.

The competition is seen by many as a stepping stone to fishing to International Rules and a chance to fish for your country, in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and provides an opportunity to fish with different boat partners on various venues such as Grafham, Rutland, Pitsford, Bewl, Draycote, Eyebrook & Chew.

For the 2020 season, group one will consist of 6 teams, group two will have 5 teams and group three 4 teams, with the possibility of one or two new clubs joining the latter group.  Teams are comprised of 6 anglers, apart from the two Association matches which are teams of 4. Fishing takes place between 10 am and 6 pm, followed by the weigh-in and to complete the social side of the event, a meal follows, after which the the day’s results are announced. New for the 2020 season will be 4 fish kill, then 8 fish catch & release.

2020 SEASON FIXTURES & VENUES (all dates subject to confirmation/change)

GROUP 1 (GWFFA A, Rutland Water FF, Fish Hawks, Soldier Palmers A, Bewl A, Tunbridge Wells)

Saturday 18th April (Association match at Grafham), Wednesday 6th May (Bewl), Saturday 30th May (Rutland), Sunday 28th June (Pitsford), Sunday 6th September (Grafham), Saturday 3rd October (Association match at Draycote)

GROUP 2 (Invicta A, Bristol FF, Greylags, Bewl B, Soldier Palmers B)

GROUP 3 (GWFFA B, England Police, Royal Navy, Invicta B)

Saturday 18th April (Association match at Grafham), Wednesday 20th May (Rutland), Wednesday 17th June (Eyebrook), Saturday 11th July (Grafham), Saturday 26th September (Pitsford), Saturday 3rd October (Association match at Draycote)